Batman: Arkham Knight, Opening Sequence Revealed At E3

Yesterday we had an opportunity to watch as Sefton Hill, Rocksteady’s Co-Founder and Game Director, revealed exclusive Batman: Arkham Knight gameplay while doing a brief Q&A session.

However that wasn’t the last of the Dark Knight that we were going to see, when Sony took the main stage at E3 they revealed the opening sequence to the game…

I’ll be honest, I’ve gone back and forth as to whether or not I was going to make this video available on our site.

Ultimately I’ve decided to share this with you because we’ve committed ourselves to sharing the things we’re passionate about, in this case we’re not only talking about video games but we’re also talking Batman. Even though I’ve decided to present you with the ability to view this here on our site, I’m going to give you every opportunity to decide whether or not you want to proceed.

Whether or not you’ll consider this to be a spoiler is really a matter of opinion, however these first couple of minutes not only set up the story but also the tone. Had I realized this was going to be the intro to Batman: Arkham Knight, I would’ve waited…

I would’ve waited to experience that moment in game, when I was sitting down to dive into the world of Arkham Knight for the first time. Even though I don’t feel watching this sequence early has ruined anything for me, I would’ve preferred to transition directly from this sequence to the game. Instead, I’ll be spending the next 7 days thinking about it and trying to figure out what comes next…

Hopefully I’ve provided you with enough information to make an informed decision. If you’re still interested in watching this opening sequence, then please continue…

…Potential Spoiler Alert…

10

9

8

7

6

Still here?

5

4

3

2

1

Last chance…

This certainly isn’t what I was expecting to see revealed at E3, however it’s absolutely amazing. The somber atmosphere surrounding the cremation of the Joker’s remains, provides a false sense of security within the streets of Gotham. And then we’re provided with a first person look at the effects of the Scarecrow’s fear toxin, as minor exposure drives the quiet little diner into absolute madness.

Of course the first time we saw a hint of the effects of the fear toxin was during the reveal of the Scarecrow Nightmare Missions when you’re Racing through the streets of a Gotham being torn asunder.

Let us know what you thought in the comments below…

Updated
Rocksteady has officially released this clip, which means now you’re able to watch it in stunning HD… It’s horrifically beautiful.

