Looking Back – Grim Fandango Remastered Review

image

Ever since Double Fine announced they were remaking a classic. One that I had missed during my adolescent years, like so many others. Well I jumped at the chance… once I cleaned up some of my back log.

So first things first. Grim Fandango is a story about death and the price of getting to the 9th underworld. You play as Manny, an unlucky “travel” agent, who has a small mishap. This sends him on his journey to explore the world of the Dead. I won’t drop any spoilers here.

Story
Well as one of the “Greatest” games of all times I had to give this a go. What happened on my journey with Manny though did not make me think I just played a top 100 all time game. The story felt scattered and filled with fluff.

Visuals
I like them. No it isn’t photo realistic, but it has a level of charm. It truly brought back the 90s for me.Thumbs up!

Gameplay
It’s an Adventure game. No crazy cimbat or difficult platforming. Just puzzles. But these puzzles don’t give you a clue how to solve them or where to go. I wandered around checking so many areas and items. This probably added to the scatteredness of the story.

Notes
Older adventure games are a different breed than they are today.

Verdict
I’m going to have to say pass if you don’t like puzzles and wait for a sale if you do. I never really got into the story so it felt more like a grind getting through the game.

Now feel free to leave a comment and let us know what you think about Grim.

