Batman: Arkham Knight, Arkham Episodes The Red Hood Story Pack PS4 Review

As you know I’ve been eagerly awaiting the release of Batman: Arkham Knight, there wasn’t going to be any doubt as to whether or not I was going to pre-order it. The question was where was I going to pre-order it? I was presented with dozens of options, ranging from; discounts and a variety of DLC offers. Ultimately I had to go with GameStop to get my hands on the Red Hood Story Pack.

The question remains, was the decision to go with GameStop for the Red Hood DLC worth it? in case you missed it, here it is in action.

Visuals

The character design for the Red Hood is phenomenal, Rocksteady has done another great job taking this iconic character and bringing him into their Arkham Universe.

The overall look and feel of this DLC mission, it definitely belongs in Batman: Arkham Knight.

Story

In the Red Hood Story Pack you’re waging a one man war against the Black Mask, as you wipe out every goon and low level enforcer within his criminal organization. Unfortunately that’s the extent of the story contained within this exclusive “story pack”, in my opinion calling this a story pack is a little misleading as this was a story in the loosest possible sense of the meaning. Going into this DLC it’s clear that they’re assuming you already have an understanding of who the Red Hood is, unfortunately if this was your first exposure to the character you wouldn’t have any idea that he’s exacting his vengeance upon all of Gotham’s criminal elite. Instead you’re left feeling as if he’s working on a personal grudge against the Black Mask.

The Red Hood offers so much potential in terms of a working story line, however what we received fell short from a storytelling point of view. Had this DLC been expanded to allow for a little more storytelling, this could’ve been a truly great add on experience. In keeping with the current feel of this DLC, I would’ve loved to see a brief intro setting up the Red Hood’s plan and taking this a step further taking on another criminal organization after eliminating the Black Mask. This would’ve done wonders to making this a true story pack.

As is, this should’ve been labeled the Red Hood Challenge Pack. And don’t get me wrong that isn’t a bad thing, it would’ve set the appropriate expectation for what we received.

Gameplay

I’ll say this, they absolutely nailed the movements and fighting style of the Red Hood. The acrobatic agility that defines his movements are only enhanced by the years of training with Batman as the 2nd Robin. When you sit down and play this mission, there isn’t any doubt that this fits into the established Arkham Universe.

The only other thing I could’ve asked for from a gameplay perspective would’ve been to allow this mission pack to play out much like the Catwoman DLC from Arkham City, where you’re able to free roam within Gotham.

Side Note

Aside from the lack of story, the biggest downside to this DLC is the overall length of play. This DLC can easily be beaten, 100% completion, in 10 minutes or less. This is another instance where referring to this as a story pack sets the wrong expectation from the start, I assumed I’d be able to spend at least 30 minutes in this story. If I had that expectation, I can only assume others will too.

I’d love to see more content being released for the Red Hood, however I don’t know if that is amongst the season pass plans.

Verdict

Whether or not you consider this to be an actual story mission pack is a matter of opinion, however I’ve already played it through 5 or 6 times just because I love the gameplay. If you pre-ordered Batman: Arkham Knight from GsmeStop, redeem that code and dive into it. If this becomes available down the road and you haven’t purchased the season pass, then take what I’ve said to heart and decide if it’s right for you. If I could do it again, I would’ve pre-ordered elsewhere for a discount and waited for this DLC on the season pass.

Have you played the Harley Quinn Story Pack DLC as of yet? If not, check it out here and see what I thought… Perhaps you’re wondering about the Batgirl: A Matter of Family DLC, check it out here
Nerd Block

