Looking Back – Nintendo 64 Games that I Missed

One Christmas(1998) sitting under our tree there was the N64. I was super happy. One thing about my N64 days I missed some games…

What? I hear you say. You definitely played the biggest and greatest of the consoles life time for sure… well no I didnt. Here is my list of “missed” games.

The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time
Released: November 21, 1998

The Legend of Zelda: Majora’s Mask
Released: April 27, 2000

Super Mario 64
Released: June 23, 1996

Banjo-Kazooie
Released: June 29, 1998

I also never really “played” Star Fox 64 until recently. Yep here’s my review.

Now that’s a crazy list of big time games. Well I only went with bigger games I missed. I played my fair share of games that I personally feel rank up with these whether anyone agrees or not. Ogre Battle 64 & Hybrid Heaven are two of my favorite games of all-time. But how or why did I miss these four games? Let’s talk about each one.
image

Super Mario 64
This is the mascot of Nintendo… the face of it all. I played Mario Kart 64 and Smash Bros. but not the main game. I received my 64 after this had been out for a while. So I never felt the urge to go play past releases. I was in the “only play what is coming out new” mode. This is easily one of my biggest gaming mishaps. I mean I played Forsaken! Yeah I know right… Anyway I plan to download on Wii or DS(if the port is pretty much the game) and fill in this gaping whole.
image

The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time
Here is a game regarded by so many as one of the definitive Zelda games. Some would argue the best Zelda game. But I never played it. I saw it at a friends house, saw the game at Walmart. But never once did I say I want to play it. I’ll be honest I hadn’t played the NES Zeldas or the SNES either. So why would I pick it up in the 8th grade? Hindsight is 20/20 as they say. I’ve seen this on so many Top X list it’s embarrassing that I skipped it. Well I’ll remedy that quickly. I have come across a 3DS and wouldn’t you know this is on it. So I’ll be playing through it very soon.
image

The Legend of Zelda: Majora’s Mask
Another Zelda, some would say the “best” Zelda. Wait I’ve done this before…. Anyway yes this is the sequel to the above critically-acclaimed Zelda. While it was critically viewed well it wasn’t as loved as OoT. I didn’t play one no way I would play the other. It’s that simple. Again remedy – 3DS, re-released game, will be playing after OoT.
image

Banjo-Kazooie
This is one of the better 3d platformers of the generation. It’s about a bear and his bird. Honestly other than that I know nothing about it. I also have no desire to play it or visit anything in its world. I believe this game is held higher by those who love it and completely ignored by those who don’t. With that said I’m not going to play this one. It doesn’t grab my attention.

So there you have it. Four of the biggest games, on a console I owned, that I never played. Here’s where you come in. Tell me what you think of these games, what you think about me skipping them and what games are you embarrassed that you missed. I also want to know what other games do you think I missed and need to play?

NB_Ban_PhotoRealistic_NC-468x60

