Night Dive Studios Has Resurrected And Enhanced The FPS/ RPG Hybrid, System Shock, For Modern PC Gamers

System Shock, the breakthrough FPS/RPG hybrid – one of the most influential video games ever produced – is back and enhanced, as Night Dive Studios unleashes yet another long-lost piece of gaming history on GOG.com. On release, System Shock forever changed the face of action gaming – it ushered an era of storytelling, choices, and RPG elements – directly influencing all-time classics like Deus Ex and Bioshock. Today, the legend returns in better shape than ever.

SuperHeroStuff - Shop Now!

“With System Shock: Enhanced Edition, we’re implementing game-changing improvements, including mouselook, widescreen, and a high resolution display mode,” says Stephen Kick, CEO of Night Dive Studios. “The classic game has never been more accessible to a modern audience.”

The re-release supports resolutions up to 1024×768 (compared to the original 640×480), and a native 854×480 widescreen mode. Gameplay was also streamlined with a toggleable mouselook mode, including more intuitive inventory and item management. Combined with assorted bug-fixes and remappable controls, System Shock is now truly enhanced.

Some gaming experiences are truly worth preserving. Gamers can also return to the authentic 90’s gameplay with System Shock: Classic – ready for modern systems, completely unaltered in all other aspects. Both releases are available in a single package, with a 40% discount for all System Shock 2 owners on GOG.com – and 20% off for everyone. The discounted offer will last until Tuesday, September 29, 6:59 AM GMT.

Finally, please join Stephen Kick (Founder and CEO of Night Dive Studios) and Paul Neurath (Creative Director at Looking Glass Studios, and industry veteran credited on System Shock 2, Thief, Neverwinter Nights and more) for an in-depth, roundtable discussion on the System Shock phenomenon and its many influences in game design to date – on Twitch.tv/GOGcomSeptember 23, 6:00 PM CET, 4:00 PM GMT, 9:00 AM PDT, 12:00 PM EDT.

Advertisements