Inspired By The RPG Classic Secret Of Mana, Scarlet Moon Records Releases The Newest Album In Their Prescription For Sleep: Game Music Lullabies Series

Scarlet Moon Records is thrilled to release the latest album in the Prescription for Sleep: Game Music Lullabies series with Prescription for Sleep: Lullabies of Mana.

Previous volumes in the award-winning series have offered compilations of music from across the spectrum of videogames, while this latest collection pays homage solely to the 16-bit Squaresoft RPG classic, Secret of Mana (known as Seiken Densetsu 2 in Japan), composed by Hiroki Kikuta.

The 12-track album is arranged and performed by GENTLE LOVE, a duo comprised of saxophonist Norihiko Hibino (Metal Gear Solid and Bayonetta series) and pianist AYAKI (Etrian Odyssey and PersonaQ). The album is fully licensed and is available now via LOUDR and other digital retailers.
SuperHeroStuff - Shop Comics Now!

Key themes from Secret of Mana were selected for inclusion on Prescription for Sleep: Lullabies of Mana to please both fans and newcomers alike, ordered to loosely tell the story of the game. Listeners will appreciate the majestic opening theme (“Angel’s Fear”) along with the vibrant underworld (“Into the Thick of It”), the jubilant town (“The Color of the Summer Sky”), the scathing desert (“Secret of the Arid Sands”), the playful forest (“What The Forest Taught Me”), the ominous second flight theme (“A Dark Star”), the emotional scaling of the final fortress (“Leave Time For Love”), and the heart wrenching ending (“Now Flightless Wings”). GENTLE LOVE has additionally recorded an original composition inspired by the Mana universe titled “Memories of Mana” which encompasses the themes of healing and Mother Earth that are featured prominently throughout Secret of Mana.

The full track list is as follows:
01. Angel’s Fear (Opening)
02. A Phantom… and Rose… (Ruins)
03. Into the Thick of It (Dungeon)
04. The Color of the Summer Sky (Town)
05. Secret of the Arid Sands (Desert)
06. What The Forest Taught Me (Forest)
07. Spirit of the Night (Sad Theme)
08. Calm Before The Storm (Victory)
09. A Dark Star (Flight)
10. Leave Time For Love (Final Dungeon)
11. Now Flightless Wings (Ending)
12. Memories of Mana (Original)

“Our first two Prescription for Sleep albums featured a variety of tracks from across all videogames, and were a great introduction to our healing game music concept,” comments Scarlet Moon Records Producer Jayson Napolitano. “But with the third album, I wanted to try something different. I had been constantly tempted to pick tracks from Secret of Mana for our first two compilations, mainly because the music is so soothing in its original form, so I thought the next evolution of the series would be an entire album dedicated to one game. I couldn’t think of a title whose imagery and themes align more with what GENTLE LOVE is trying to accomplish, and having spent my childhood playing this game and humming the soundtrack, it’s a real treat for me to listen to Prescription for Sleep: Lullabies of Mana each and every time. I hope it resonates with fans of Secret of Mana and inspires those who haven’t played it to go back and do so!” 

Those who purchase Prescription for Sleep: Lullabies of Mana on LOUDR will also receive GENTLE LOVE’s tribute to late Nintendo President and CEO Satoru Iwata titled Prescription for Peace: A Tribute to the Departed at no charge. You’ll also have the opportunity to bundle the release with previous Prescription for Sleep: Game Music Lullabies albums at a discounted rate.

Learn more about the Prescription for Sleep: Game Music Lullabies series and explore the background behind Prescription for Sleep: Lullabies of Mana on the official website.